TLACast Newsletter
Names in the News
March 2017
Volume. 36 No. 2
3355 Bee Cave Road, Suite 401 | Austin, Texas 78746-6763
Phone: 512.328.1518 or 800.580.2852 | Email:

    Elspeth Blakeman passed away in February.
    Joy Llorens of Aldine ISD passed away in February.
    Cynthia Alaniz has been nominated as an AASL Social Media Curriculum Champion finalist.
    • Starting in May, Ignacio Albarracin will become a library administrator at Prince George Public Library in British Columbia. He currently works at the San Antonio Public Library.
    Naomi Bates has been nominated as an AASL Social Media Program Pioneer finalist.
    Michelle Cooper has been nominated as an AASL Social Media Advocacy Ambassador finalist.
    Peter Coyl, formerly at the Dallas Public Library, is the new library director of the Montclair Public Library in New Jersey.
    Robin Fradenburgh of the University of Texas at Austin will retire at the end of August, 2017.
    Mark Gottschalk was named library director at Lubbock Christian University effective August, 2017.
    Viccy Kemp is a candidate for the Carrollton-Farmers Branch School Board.
    Judi Moreillon has been nominated as an AASL Social Media Leadership Luminary finalist.
    Janice Newsum is now manager, library services for Houston ISD.
    Toni Simmons, library director of the Zula B. Wylie Public Library, received the City of Cedar Hill's Leadership Excellence Award.
    Sheryl Stoeck was selected as the 2016-17 High School Educator of the Year for Northside ISD (San Antonio).
    Becky Sullivan, library director of Riter C. Hulsey Public Library, is retiring effective April 28. Rebecca (Becca) Anderson will be the new library director.
    • Effective March 14, UNT's Beth Thomsett-Scott became head of the engineering library at Pennsylvania State University.