TLACast Newsletter
Names in the News
June 2017
Volume. 36 No. 4
3355 Bee Cave Road, Suite 401 | Austin, Texas 78746-6763
Phone: 512.328.1518 or 800.580.2852 | Email:

    Margaret Irby Nichols, long-time active TLA member and past-president, passed away in June.

    Vanessa Ashcraft, Jarrell ISD, was selected as TASLA president- elect.

    Jennifer Bekker is the new director of Denton public libraries.

    Jacqueline Bridges-Sheppherd retired from Arlington ISD in May

    Suzanne Ferrell, Clear Creek ISD, is the new TASLA president.

    Jeffrey Levy retired from the University of North Texas on May 31, 2017.

    Amy Marquez, Pharr-San Juan-Alamo ISD, was selected as one of 13 winners in Capstone's "The Power of Librarians" national photo contest.

    Debra Marshall retired from Coppell ISD in June.

    Pat Smith was honored for her 45 years of dedication to Texas libraries by the Texas State Library and Archives Commission.

    John Trischitti, director of Midland County Public Libraries, presented a TED talk on the impact of literacy.