Names in the News
  • April Aultman Becker is the new dean at Sul Ross, succeeding Don Dowdey who recently retired.

  • Carolyn Booker, formerly of the Keller Public Library, has been appointed the new director of the Lewisville Public Library.

  • Sharyland ISD librarian Nicole Cruz was honored with the South Texas Literacy Coalition Excellence Award.

  • Carlyn Gray has announced her retirement effective in December 2015. Government documents librarian and Portal to Texas History founder Cathy Hartman will retire from UNT this month.

  • Courtney Kincaid, formerly the Hood County library director, has accepted a position at the North Richland Hills Public Library.

  • Governor Greg Abbott has appointed Romanita Matta-Barrera of San Antonio, Martha Wong of Houston, and re-appointed Larry Holt of College Station to the Texas State Library and Archives Commission for terms to expire on September 28, 2021. Outgoing members include Martha Doty Freeman and Sandy Pickett who have been longtime champions and supporters of the agency and Texas Libraries.

  • Kristi Park, who has been serving at the interim director, has been named to the permanent position of executive director of the Texas Digital Library.

  • Paul Sharpe is the first university librarian with the newly created University of Texas - Rio Grande Valley, which combines the libraries of UT-Brownsville, UT- Pan American, and the medical library in Harlingen as the UTRGV Libraries.

  • Jeffrey Steely, of Baylor University, is the new library director of Georgia State University.

  • Elizabeth Worley is the new director of Hardin Simmons University Library, succeeding Alice Specht who retired.


JoAnn Bell has passed away in last August.
Welta Wally Scruggs has passed away.

TLACast Newsletter
Volume 34 No. 4 | December 2015
3355 Bee Cave Road, Suite 401 | Austin, Texas 78746-6763
Phone: 512.328.1518 or 800.580.2852 | Email: